Author Topic: Errata - Book 2 2nd edition  (Read 858 times)

Barritus

  • El(S)
  • *****
  • Posts: 623
Errata - Book 2 2nd edition
« on: March 09, 2017, 01:13:51 PM »
Here are some errata from the new version of Book 2.

This first lot are errata carried over from the first edition which weren't addressed...

2/4 – Warring States Chinese: Does Han count as “rebel”? That is, can Han Hsin have Peasant Rebels in 206BC?

2/5 – LHG: Reference to Taras (permitted allies) should be changed to Tarantine (also in permitted allies) to avoid confusion – some people don’t realise they mean the same city.

2/6 – Bithynian: When do Heraclian allies change from LHG to Hellenistic Greek? Before the 265BC change in the Bithynian list, at the same time, or after?

2/9 – Syracusan: Is it intended that Syracusans’ Numidian allies can use Ps (S), in direct contrast to Early Carthaginians’ Numidian allies?

2/12 – Alexandrian Mac: Is it intended that Pk (O) generals can’t be re-graded as Ax (O) the way Phalangites can be?

2/23 – LPIA: Can you mix nomad and non-nomad troops in one army?

2/27 – Pyrrhic: Can Italians available from 280BC be used when creating a Pyrrhic allied command for Syracusans?

2/28 – Gordyene: Does this army get higher aggression factor from 83BC to 69BC?

2/30 – Galatian: Do Thessalian Cv (O) count towards total of non-chariot Cv (O) for calculating number of Cv (I)?

2/31 – Hellenistic Greek: Can an army mix forces from different cities? If so, how are they organised? If not, why are some options specified as being available only for certain cities if C-in-C while others are available for just the city? Otherwise, what’s the significance of the statement about the availability of Aitolians?

2/42 – Tamil and Sinhalese: Do Pallavas count as Tamil or Sinhalese? What about Chola? Or are Sinhalese a stand-alone option within the list?

2/62 – Abyssinian and Horn of Africa: Is mixing of Christian and Muslim options allowed? Do Axumites and Solomonids count as Christian or Muslim?

2/63 – Three Kingdoms: How are Temporary Towers supposed to be deployed? Do they need a BUA (presumably not)? But if not, and they’re instead limited to deployment zones (as non-BUAs require) how can they possibly permit shooting into an enemy camp, given even artillery couldn’t shoot that far?

2/72 – Early Frankish etc: Patrician Roman allies for Suevi can’t include mounted elements, but mounted generals are compulsory in the Patrician Roman list. How do we resolve this?

2/75 – Paekche Korean: Japanese allied Uji Pk (X) spearmen are listed as “1 to 2-3 per 3 Uji Bw…” which is nonsensical. Referring to the original Japanese list, it should probably be “1-2 per 3 Uji Bw…”

2/81 – SRB: Firstly, how many Companions can an SRB ally have in Patrician Roman list? 2-4? Or should these numbers be reduced in accordance with the rules covering ally contingents to just 1? Secondly, should Armoricans have access to the FW, or only British? Thirdly, should Armoricans have access to Frankish allies after 496 (end of Early Frankish list)?

= = = =

On top of that, there are errors which have appeared in the new list books, thanks to changes which have been made.

2/5 – LHG: What is Thessalian “Irr Sx (S) @ 4AP” in the hoplites section?

2/10 – Camillan Roman: As each troop selection is of a single number of elements, why are there two overlapping ranges for downgrading hastati and principes from 340BC?

2/20 – Ptolemaic: In 275BC the army has no Macedonian Phalangites or peltasts/Thureophoroi.

Barritus

  • El(S)
  • *****
  • Posts: 623
Re: Errata - Book 2 2nd edition
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2017, 01:48:18 PM »
Abyssinian and Horn of Africa: the Byzantine-financed Nobades and Blemmyes in an Abyssinian army are up to half Irr Cv (S), although in the Nobades list they’re now Irr Kn (I). Shouldn't these chaps also be Kn (I)?

Barritus

  • El(S)
  • *****
  • Posts: 623
Re: Errata - Book 2 2nd edition
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 11:26:49 AM »
Mid Imperial Roman: Why have they lost their ability to fortify their baggage?

Orcoteuthis

  • Cv(S)
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • Alhazred (in Swedish, but a picture says more than a thousand words in any language)
Re: Errata - Book 2 2nd edition
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 03:25:57 PM »
2/23 – LPIA: Can you mix nomad and non-nomad troops in one army?
The list notes say "Nomad generals cannot command non-Nomads", so, by implication, non-Nomad generals can command Nomads and you can mix both sorts in a single army.
Andreas Johansson

Orcoteuthis

  • Cv(S)
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • Alhazred (in Swedish, but a picture says more than a thousand words in any language)
Re: Errata - Book 2 2nd edition
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 03:35:38 PM »
2/42 – Tamil and Sinhalese: Do Pallavas count as Tamil or Sinhalese? What about Chola? Or are Sinhalese a stand-alone option within the list?
Pallavas and Chola are Tamil.
Quote
2/62 – Abyssinian and Horn of Africa: Is mixing of Christian and Muslim options allowed? Do Axumites and Solomonids count as Christian or Muslim?
Axumites and Solomonids are Christian. An army with a Muslim C-in-C or subbie must be all Muslim (which of course means only a Muslim C-in-C can have a Muslim subbie), but a Christian Ethiopian army can have Muslim troops (as implied by the Muslim Bowmen line) and a Muslim ally-gen.

Phil expects readers to have some basic historical familiarity with the armies in question. There's a bunch of other lists where things are similarly taken as read.
Quote
2/5 – LHG: What is Thessalian “Irr Sx (S) @ 4AP” in the hoplites section?
Presumably Irr Ax (S).
« Last Edit: March 19, 2017, 04:02:36 PM by Orcoteuthis »
Andreas Johansson

Barritus

  • El(S)
  • *****
  • Posts: 623
Re: Errata - Book 2 2nd edition
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2018, 03:06:42 PM »
Patrician Romans can have Spanish Visigothic allies from 412 to 421.

Only problem is, the Spanish Visigothic list doesn't start until 419. Until then they're Early Visigothic.

Doesn't this mean the Patricians need two options for the Visigoth allies - 412 to 418 and 419 to 421?

Barritus

  • El(S)
  • *****
  • Posts: 623
Re: Errata - Book 2 2nd edition
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2018, 11:06:41 AM »
Sub-Roman British:

Not so much an erratum as a request for clarification...

Can Riothamus in Gaul use the Armorican options, specifically, Frankish and Alan allies?